top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKETHAN RAMAN

The Second Blog Post

Recently in PLTW, we went in-depth on the topic of ethics in engineering. The first portion of this project was to present an event caused by unethical engineering practices and my group chose to do it on the Chernobyl Nuclear Disaster. I really liked this presentation because it gave me the chance to learn more about nuclear chemistry and reactors which is a very interesting topic. We also debated the ethical issues in the movie Monsters Inc. in which I had to argue that the CEO was engaging in wrong actions. I believe that this unit has taught me to be more observant and respect regulations more. Furthermore, consumer safety should be the top priority when creating anything as it will be more costly to clean up than to institute right away ethics aside. It also stressed to me the difficult job an engineer in charge has when creating a structure. On one hand, the design has to be safe, comply with the regulations, and have quality control. On the other hand, there is a strive to make it as cheap, efficient, and quick as possible. In other news now that several weeks have gone by, I can confidently say I have settled and readjusted back to in-person school. While there were several benefits of being online for me, I do think as far as PLTW is concerned it will be a significantly better experience in person. I look forward to collaborating with a team to make a project and with a mentor in order to gain experience. As far as this year is concerned I am most excited for Jazz band, and Quiz Bowl as well. I have also started to complete my college applications and am excited to knock them out and apply and see where I get in.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My finest moments in PLTW

I believe my favorite part of PLTW are the students and teachers I have gotten a chance to know through the program. Since Freshman year I have been able to fabricate many friendships through this pro

Post-PLTW Life

After I graduate high school, I intend to go to UCLA to pursue a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics. I chose this major because math has always been my favorite subject, and I would like to mix it

College Applications: Don't Do What I Did

Now that I have finished my college application process I can identify what I did well, and what I did poorly. If I could go back and change what I did I would have started much earlier, in the summer

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page